'Another Happy Day' took home the Waldo Salt Screening Award from the 2011 Sundance Film Festival.

Sundance Awards 'Circumstance,' 'Another Happy Day'

Susan Gerhard January 30, 2011

The Sundance Film Festival announced its complete awards Saturday night, and winners included How to Die in Oregon (Grand Jury Prize, Documentary), which looks at life and death in the first state to legalize physician-assisted suicide, Like Crazy (Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic), about a long-distance relationship, Circumstance (Audience Award, Dramatic), which offers up sexual rebellion in Iran, Another Happy Day (Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award), which presents an emotional family drama. The complete list of awarded films follows.

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: How to Die in Oregon (Peter D. Richardson)

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: Like Crazy (Drake Doremus)

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary: Hell and Back Again (Danfung Dennis)
World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic: Happy, Happy (Anne Sewitsky)
Audience Award, Documentary: Buck (Cindy Meehl)
Audience Award, Dramatic: Circumstance (Maryam Keshavarz)

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary: Senna (Asif Kapadia)

World Cinema Audience Award, Dramatic: Kinyarwanda (Alrick Brown)
Best of NEXT! Audience Award: to to.get.her (Erica Dunton)

Directing Award, Documentary: Jon Foy for Resurrect Dead: The Mystery of the Toynbee Tiles

Directing Award, Dramatic: Sean Durkin for Martha Marcy May Marlene

World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary: James Marsh for Project Nim

World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic: Paddy Considine for Tyrannosaur

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Sam Levinson for Another Happy Day

World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Yossi Madmony for Restoration

Documentary Editing Award: Matthew Hamachek and Marshall Currey If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award: Göran Hugo Olsson and Hanna Lejonqvist for The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary: Cinematographers Eric Strauss, Ryan Hill and Peter Hutchens for The Redemption of General Butt Naked

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Cinematographer Bradford Young for Pariah

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary: Cinematographer Danfung Dennis for Hell and Back Again

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Cinematographer Diego F. Jimenez for All Your Dead Ones

Two World Cinema Special Jury Prizes, Dramatic for Breakout Performances: Olivia Colman and Peter Mullan for their roles in Tyrannosaur

World Cinema Special Jury Prize, Documentary: Position Among the Stars (Leonard Retel Helmrich)
Special Jury Prize, Documentary: Being Elmo: A Puppeteer's Journey (Constance Marks)

Special Jury Prize, Dramatic: Another Earth (Mike Cahill)

Special Jury Prize, Dramatic: Felicity Jones for her role in Like Crazy

As announced on Tuesday, the Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking was awarded to Brick Novax pt 1 and 2 (director and screenwriter Matt Piedmont). The International Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking was given to Deeper Than Yesterday (director and screenwriter: Ariel Kleiman). In addition, the jury awarded Honorable Mentions in Short Filmmaking to: Choke (director and screenwriter Michelle Latimer); Diarchy (director and screenwriter: Ferdinando Cito Filomarino); The External World (director and screenwriter David O'Reilly); The Legend of Beaver Dam (director Jerome Sable, screenwriters Jerome Sable and Eli Batalion); Out of Reach (director and screenwriter Jakub Stozek); and Protoparticles (director and screenwriter Chema García Ibarra).

On Tuesday Sundance Institute and Mahindra announced the winners of the inaugural Sundance Institute/Mahindra Global Filmmaking Award, in recognition and support of emerging independent filmmakers from around the world. The winning directors and projects are: Bogdan Mustata, Wolf from Romania; Ernesto Contreras, I Dream in Another Language from Mexico; Seng Tat Liew, In What City Does It Live? from Malaysia; and Talya Lavie, Zero Motivation from Israel.

Sundance Institute and NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation) on Thursday announced Cherien Dabis, director of May in the Summer, as the winner of the Sundance Institute/NHK Award honoring and supporting emerging filmmakers.

Another Earth, written and directed by Mike Cahill, is the recipient of this year's Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize. The Prize, which carries a $20,000 cash award by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, is presented to an outstanding feature film focusing on science or technology as a theme, or depicting a scientist, engineer, or mathematician as a major character.

  • Nov 3, 2011

    Essential SF: Rob Epstein and Jeffrey Friedman

    With riveting characters, cascading revelations and momentous breakthroughs, Epstein and Friedman’s work paved the way for contemporary documentary practice.

  • Nov 2, 2011

    Essential SF: Susan Gerhard

    Susan Gerhard talks copy, critics and the 'there' we have here.

  • Nov 1, 2011

    Essential SF: Joshua Grannell

    Since its first event in 1998, Midnight Mass has become an SF institution, and Peaches Christ, well, she's its peerless warden and cult leader.

  • Oct 31, 2011

    Essential SF: Karen Larsen

    Universally warm sentiment is attached to the Bay Area's hardest working indie/art film publicist.

  • Oct 28, 2011

    Joshua Moore, on Location

    Filmmaker and programmer Moore talks process, offers perspective on his debut feature and Cinema by the Bay opener, ‘I Think It’s Raining.’

  • Oct 21, 2011

    In Orbit with ‘An Injury to One’

    Accompanied by a program of solar system shorts, Travis Wilkerson’s 2003 look at ruthless union-busting and the rise and fall of Butte, Montana, offers eerie resonance.

  • Oct 19, 2011

    Essential SF: Irving Saraf and Allie Light

    Saraf and Light's work is marked by an unwavering appreciation for underdogs and outsiders.

  • Oct 18, 2011

    Clean White Lines Demos DIY Ethos

    Can three film school grads from San Francisco break out without the help of Hollywood or New York connections?